Charter School Information

What is a Charter School?

Starting a Charter School

FAQs

Charter Schools in Maryland

Statistics

Local School System Contact Information

Charter School Job Opportunities

History of Maryland Legislation

Local School System
Contact Information

Charter School Representatives Local School Systems

Application Deadlines

   

Allegany County Board of Education
Mr. John Logsdon
Supervisor of Federal Programs
301-759-2064
john.logsdon@acps.k12.md.us

http://boe.allconet.org/
 

Rolling Basis

        

 

Anne Arundel County Public Schools
Ms. Kathy Lane
Director, Alt. Education & Safe Schools
410-222-5193
klane@aacps.org

http://www.aacps.org/html/schol/charterschools.asp

 

Rolling Basis

        

 

Baltimore City Public School

Ms. Alison Perkins-Cohen
Charter and New Schools, Area 8
410-396-8550
APerkins-Cohen@bcps.k12.md.us

http://www.baltimorecityschools.org/domain/97

 

September 1 and March

        

 

Baltimore County Public Schools
Dr. Roger Plunkett
Executive Director, Special Programs
410-887-2373
rplunkett@bcps.org

http://www.bcps.org/board/exhibits/2003/100903exhibitq.pdf
 

Letter of Intent May 1

January 1st full application

 

 

Calvert County Public Schools
Ms. Deborah Grinnage-Pulley
Director, Secondary Education
Curriculum and Instruction
410-535-7355
pulleyd@calvertnet.k12.md.us

 

Rolling Basis

 

 

Caroline County Public Schools
Ms. Cynthia Spicer
Supervisor of Instruction
410-479-1460
Cynthia_spicer@mail.cl.k12.md.us

 

Rolling Basis

 

 

Carroll County Public Schools
Mr. Stephen Guthrie
Assistant Superintendent of Administration
410-751-3127
shguthr@k12.carr.org

 

Rolling Basis

 

 

Cecil County Public Schools
Mr. Vincent Cariello
Associate Supt for Admin Services
410-996-5440
vcariello@ccps.org  

488d129c9899f5185256fef00557b21?OpenDocument&Click=

 

October 15

        

 

Charles County Public Schools
Mr. Eric Schwartz
Lawyer
301-934-7230
eschwartz@ccboe.com

http://www.ccboe.com/site/charter/CharterApplication.htm

 

Rolling Basis

 

 

Dorchester County Board of Education
Dr. Lorenzo Hughes

Assistant Superintendent for Instruction

410-221-1111 x1033

hughes@dcps.org

http://www.dcps.k12.md.us/pdfs/

Charter%20School%20Application.pdf
 

September 1

 

 

Frederick County Board of Education
Dr. Michele Krantz
Charter School Liaison
240-344-8024
michele.krantz@fcps.org

http://apps.fcps.org/dept/legal/400-84.pdf

 

Concept proposal due May 1. Application due August 1

 

 

Garrett County Board of Education
Ms. Barbara Baker
Assistant Superintendent  
301-334-8937
bbaker@ga.k12.md.us

 

Rolling Basis

 

 

Harford County Public Schools
Ms. Leeann Schobert  

Coordinator for School Improvement  

Phone:  410-809-6073

Leeann.Schobert@hcps.org

www.hcps.org/gifted

 

September 26

 

 

Howard County Public Schools
Ms. Fran Albert

Policy and Charter School Specialist
410-313-6870
fran_albert@hcpss.org

http://www.hcpss.org/aboutus/charterschools.shtml

 

Intent form and Prospectus due by April 30, application due by July 31

 

 

Kent County Public Schools
Mr. Edward Silver
Supervisor of Education Services
410-778-7116
esilver@kent.k12.md.us

 

Rolling Basis

 

 

Montgomery County Public Schools
Ms. Lori-Christina Webb

Executive Asst – Off of Deputy Supt

301-279-3126

Lori-Christina_Webb@mcpsmd.org

 

March 1

 

 

Prince George's County Public Schools
Ms. Loretta White Khaalid
Executive Assistant, Charter Schools

Office of Portfolio Schools
301-618-7320
loretta.white@pgcps.org

 

January

 

 

Queen Anne's County Board of Education
Dr. Diane Larrimore
Coordinator of Media and Online Learning
410-758-2403
larrimod@qacps.k12.md.us

 

Letter of Intent January 1, concept proposal due February

 

 

St. Mary's County Public Schools
Ms. Kelly Hall
Director of Elementary Education
301-475-5511 Ext. 249
kmhall@.smcps.org

 

Rolling Basis

 

 

Somerset County Public Schools
Ms. Lynette Johnson  
Supervisor of Special Education
410-621-1616
ljohnson@somerset.k12.md.us

http://www.somerset.k12.md.us/pao/Board%20of%20Ed/

Policies/100-20.pdf
 

February 1

 

 

Talbot County Public Schools
Mrs. Lynne Duncan
Supervisor, Student Services
410-822-0330  x119
lduncan@tcps.k12.md.us

 

January 1

 

 

Washington County Board of Education
Mr. Dale Bannon
Director of System Development
301-766-2937
bannodal@wcboe.k12.md.us

http://www.wcboe.k12.md.us/content/boe_policies_charter.cfm

 

Letter of Intent to apply- September 1. Concept Proposal (Outline of Application)-November 1. Final Application due May 1 for a proposed opening in 16 months

 

 

Wicomico County Board of Education
Ms. Kim Miles

Director of Secondary Instruction

410-677-4584

kmilesr@wcboe.org

 

Rolling Basis

 

 

Worcester County Board of Education

Mr. Lou Taylor
Assistant Superintendent, Administrative Services
410-632-5074
lhtaylor@mail.worcester.k12.md.us

 

Rolling Basis